USA Today

Flying Squirrels Release 2019 Roster

Richmond opens up Thursday at The Diamond

Wes McElroy
March 29, 2019 - 1:35 pm

From Press Release 

Initial roster features mix of top prospects, veteran experience


FUNNVILLE – The Richmond Flying Squirrels announced their preliminary 2019 roster, as set by the San Francisco Giants, on Friday morning ahead of their 10th Season, which begins next Thursday, April 4 at The Diamond. The preliminary roster features 13 returning members of the Flying Squirrels, eight of the Giants’ top-30 prospects and four players with major-league experience.


Fans will have their first chance to see this year’s Flying Squirrels with an open batting practice and Meet the Team event from 5:30-7 p.m. on Tuesday, April 2 at The Diamond.


The roster features eight of Baseball America’s top-30 Giants prospects, including right-handed pitcher Logan Webb (6), outfielder Chris Shaw (11), right-handed pitcher Melvin Adon (12), outfielder Heath Quinn (15), left-handed pitcher  Garrett Williams (21), infielder Ryan Howard (24), left-handed pitcher Conner Menez (25) and infielder Jalen Miller (30). Seven players are also on’s top-30 Giants prospects, including Webb (5), Shaw (11), Quinn (13), Adon (15), Williams (21), Howard (28) and Miller (29).


The roster includes a combined 15 seasons and 484 games of major-league experience with the inclusion of pitchers Fernando Abad and Brandon Beachy, first baseman Brock Stassi and outfielder Chris Shaw.


For the first time in franchise history, the preliminary roster includes two players who were born and raised in the Richmond area. Catcher Matt Winn (J.R. Tucker HS / Virginia Military Institute) is slated to return for his fourth season with the Flying Squirrels, and right-handed pitcher Connor Overton (Atlee High School / Old Dominion University) is listed on the preliminary roster after making seven appearances, including two starts, for the Flying Squirrels in 2018.


Thirteen players from previous years’ Flying Squirrels teams are included on the preliminary roster: Pitchers Ryan Halstead, Rodolfo Martinez, Menez, Overton, Nolan Riggs, Webb, Williams and Sam Wolff, catcher Matt Winn, infielders Jonah Arenado and Howard, as well as outfielders Dylan Davis and Shaw.


Other newcomers named on the preliminary roster include pitchers Enderson Franco, Kieran Lovegrove and Carlos Navas, catchers Jin-De Jhang and Hamlet Marte, infielders Gio Brusa and Brandon Van Horn and outfielders Johneshwy Fargas and Jacob Heyward.


The preliminary roster includes 29 total players: 15 pitchers, three catchers, six infielders and five outfielders. An updated roster will be announced prior to Opening Night on Thursday.


The full roster is listed below:



Fernando Abad

Melvin Adon

Brandon Beachy

Enderson Franco

Ryan Halstead

Kieran Lovegrove

Rodolfo Martinez

Conner Menez

Carlos Navas

Connor Overton

Nolan Riggs

Sam Selman

Logan Webb

Garrett Williams

Sam Wolff



Jin-De Jhang

Hamlet Marte

Matt Winn



Jonah Arenado

Gio Brusa

Ryan Howard

Jalen Miller

Brock Stassi

Brandon Van Horn



Dylan Davis

Johneshwy Fargas

Jacob Heyward

Heath Quinn

Chris Shaw